The General Council of Winnipeg Community Centres (GCWCC) was established in 1971 when the 13 autonomous municipalities and the City of Winnipeg were amalgamated to form Unicity. GCWCC's primary purpose was to be a central resource for all Community Centres and to facilitate cooperation and communication among the Community Centres, and between the Community Centres and City administration. 

Winnipeg is renowned for it's volunteers, who have been the backbone of the Community Centre movement since the Post War Era.

While these are still GCWCC’s primary responsibilities, our mandate has broadened to encompass leadership in the areas of governance, capital investments, operations and programming. To support Community Centre volunteers and promote sound practices, GCWCC has developed programs and services that provide leadership development, financial accountability and training, governance support with standard constitutions, board orientation and training, workplace health and safety, as well as support with administrative matters (job descriptions, labour relations, etc.).

Winnipeg is renowned for its volunteers, who have been the backbone of the Community Centre movement since the Post War Era. Winnipeg is home to 63 Community Centres, all as diverse as the neighbourhoods they are in. More than 17,000 people volunteer at Community Centres, which represents over one million volunteer hours.

The community centre model in Winnipeg is unique from other Canadian cities. While they are owned by the City, they are not run or staffed by the City. Instead, each is governed and operated by a group of volunteers with a community-elected Board of Directors. The City provides an annual operating grant to cover basic maintenance and utilities expenses, while the Community Centres are responsible for covering all other costs including staffing, programming, capital improvements and equipment.

Winnipeg is home to 63 Community Centres, all as diverse as the neighbourhoods they are in.

Like the Community Centres themselves, GCWCC is run by a volunteer board that is supported by five staff. GCWCC’s Executive Director and a City of Winnipeg Community Services representative are ex-officio members.

Our Mission,
Vision and Values


GCWCC provides leadership and guidance to volunteers to develop and sustain Community Centres for the citizens of Winnipeg.


To lead and guide Winnipeg's unique volunteer-based Community Centre model into a strong and vibrant future.


  • GCWCC recognizes the value of volunteers.
  • GCWCC operates in a collaborative and respectful manner.
  • GCWCC is accountable to our stakeholders (membership, funding bodies, the City of Winnipeg and its residents) through transparent, flexible, responsive and open operations.
  • GCWCC recognizes that Winnipeg is a diverse community, and all citizens should have access to inclusive and safe programs and services.

Click here for the GCWCC Constitution and Bylaws

Click here for the GCWCC Strategic Plan

Our Team

Executive Board

Tim Killeen: President
Lora Meseman: 1st Vice President
Mike Purdy: 2nd Vice President
Larry Gledhill: Past President
Marlene Amell: Executive Director

Representative Board

Bill Jost: District #1
Donna Jenkyns: District #2
Tom Thompson: District #3
Val Rusnak District #4
Paul Pelletier: District #5
Ryan Rolston WMHA
Ryan Rolston: Board Member
Jill Knaggs: Board Member
Dr. Gerry Michalski: Board Member
Jeff Smithson: Community Services
Paul Skutnik: Community Services


Marlene Amell:

Executive Director

Cathy Schroeder:

Office Manager
Mary Bruneau: Office Assistant
Cindy Fox: Community Centre Facility
and Program Coordinator
Clive Wightman: Financial Officer
Find Your Community Centre